Find us On Facebook Twitter YouTube Linked In Flickr
Faculty and Staff

Dr. Marilyn Berman Pollans Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Meet More Of Our Outstanding Faculty and Staff:

Clark School Honors

Dr. Marilyn Berman Pollans Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Faculty Service Award

E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty

Poole & Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty

Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award

Faculty Outstanding Research Award

University Honors

Invention of the Year Award

Distinguished University Professor

Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

Other Awards

Searching for a Faculty or Staff Member?

There are several ways to access information on Clark School faculty and staff:

♦ View the directory of department chairs and institute directors.

Visit departmental web sites.

Use the  University of Maryland faculty and staff directory.



This award is given to a staff member whose service to his or her department, to the school, and the university has been judged outstanding.

Meet Our 2013 Recipient

Tracy ChungThe recipient of the 2013 Dr. Marilyn Berman Pollans Outstanding Service Award for Staff is Ms. Tracy Chung, Director of Academic and Student Affairs in the Fischell Department of Bioengineering. Dr. Chung has worked for the Clark School since 2006, previously serving the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department before joining the Fischell Department of Bioengineering. The committee noted her outstanding service to the Clark School and to the greater University of Maryland community. Dr. Chung received enthusiastic support for this award from faculty, staff, and students she has supervised. She has efficiently served a rapidly growing bioengineering undergraduate program as well as an expanding graduate program. She has taken a leadership role in recruiting students and faculty at the Biomedical Engineering Society conference, routinely mentors her counterparts in other departments, and is always striving to improve the processes in the Fischell Department of Bioengineering. Dr. Chung earned her B.A. degree from Tufts University, M.A. degree from American University, and Ph.D. degree from the University of Maryland.

Past Recipients

  • 2012: Heidi Sauber, Engineering Co-Op and Career Services
  • 2011: Kathy Lopresti, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • 2010: Sharon Hodgson, Fire Protection Engineering
  • 2009: Teresa Moore, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2008: Debra Densmore, Engineering Co-op and Career Services Office
  • 2007: George Syrmos, Office of Advanced Engineering Education
  • 2006: Eric Schurr, Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute
  • 2005: Kathleen Hart, Materials Science and Engineering
  • 2004: Al Santos, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • 2003: Janet Murphy, Engineering Dean's Office
  • 2002: Daniel Carafelli, Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute
  • 2001: Naji Hammad, Engineering Copy Center
  • 2000: Nancy Swader, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 1999: Bryan Hill, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1998: Victoria Daul, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • 1997: Rebecca Sarni, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1996: Terry Chase, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • 1995: Patricia Baker, Mechanical Engineering
  • 1994: Terry Clark, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1993: Maureen Meyer, Aerospace Engineering