Find us On Facebook Twitter YouTube Linked In Flickr
Faculty and Staff

The Poole and Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty

Meet More Of Our Outstanding Faculty and Staff:

Clark School Honors

Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Faculty Service Award

E. Robert Kent Outstanding Teaching Award for Junior Faculty

Poole & Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty

Junior Faculty Outstanding Research Award

Faculty Outstanding Research Award

University Honors

Invention of the Year Award

Distinguished University Professor

Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

Other Awards

Searching for a Faculty or Staff Member?

There are several ways to access information on Clark School faculty and staff:

♦ View the directory of department chairs and institute directors.

Visit departmental web sites.

Use the  University of Maryland faculty and staff directory.



This award is given to a senior faculty member for excellence in teaching. Prior to 2000, the Poole and Kent Teaching Award for Senior Faculty was known as the Outstanding Teaching Award for Senior Faculty.

Meet Our 2012 Recipient

Chris DavisProfessor Christopher Davis has served in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering for 37 years. An expert in optics, he introduced a new core graduate course in optical communication systems, which has become one of the most popular in the program. A Keystone professor, he also teaches a capstone design course in optical design, a unique opportunity at the undergraduate level. He will be re-introducing a 100-level honors class called “The Light Fantastic: Light, Optics and Lasers.” Students appreciate his engaging teaching style, which ties concepts to real-world scenarios, like the circuit theory hidden in rock and roll music. He has an open-door office hours policy, allowing students to meet with him whenever he is in his office. Professor Davis was named a Distinguished Scholar-Teacher in 1989.

Past Recipients

2011: Rama Chellappa, Electrical and Computer Engineering
2010: Adrian Papamarcou, Electrical and Computer Engineering
2009: Kenneth Kiger and Peter Sandborn,  Mechanical Engineering  
2008: Sandra Greer,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
2007: Mikhail Anisimov, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
2006: M. Sherif Aggour,  Civil and Environmental Engineering  
2005:  K.J. Ray Liu,  Electrical and Computer Engineering  
2004:  Guangming Zhang,  Mechanical Engineering  
2003:  James Duncan,  Mechanical Engineering  
2002:  David Bigio,  Mechanical Engineering  
2001:  Nam Sun Wang,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering  
2000:  Charles Striffler,  Electrical and Computer Engineering  
1999:  William Walston,  Mechanical Engineering  
1998:  Anthony Vizzin,  Aerospace Engineering  
1997:  Richard Calabrese,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering  
1996:  Patrick Cunniff,  Mechanical Engineering  
1995:  John Anderson,  Aerospace Engineering  
1994:  William Destler,  Electrical and Computer Engineering  
1993:  Thomas Reagan,  Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering  
1992:  Daniel Garber,  Civil and Environmental Engineering  
1991:  James Dally,  Mechanical Engineering  
1990:  Gary Pertmer,  Nuclear Engineering  
1989:  David Holloway,  Mechanical Engineering  
1988:  Frank Munno,  Nuclear Engineering  
1987:  Isaak Mayergoyz,  Electrical and Computer Engineering  
1986:  Clifford Sayre,  Mechanical Engineering