Find us On Facebook Twitter YouTube Linked In Flickr

The Clark School’s Future Faculty Program

Meet Future Faculty Program Alumna Prof. Enlu Zhou

Enlu Zhou

I successfully landed a tenure track academic position at the University of Illinois right after my Ph.D. graduation. This was partly due to what I learned through the experience in the Future Faculty Program (FFP). The program talked about every aspect in landing an academic position, including how to work towards that goal during graduate life, how to prepare application materials, and how to handle interviews. I also gained the experience of teaching and mentoring through the practicum, which gave me an advantage in the job application process and a head start in my career. The FFP goes far beyond that; it also educates extensively about the whole academic career, including research, teaching, grantsmanship, service, and networking. Being a young assistant professor now, I am still benefitting from what I have learned at FFP.


Cultivating Tomorrow’s Great Engineering Teachers

Apply NowAs a leading academic institution, the Clark School has a responsibility to help produce the great engineering teachers future generations of students will rely on. While many Clark School alumni have already secured academic positions around the world on their own initiative, we have created the Future Faculty Program to:

  • Increase the number of highly qualified teachers the Clark School produces for the world’s engineering schools
  • Prepare selected Clark School doctoral students to achieve career-long success in the academic world as teachers and researchers
  • Place selected students in leading institutions where their impact can be greatest and where they can continue to partner with the Clark School

This year the Clark School Future Faculty Program has expanded to include PhD Students from the Department of Computer Science.

Postdoctoral Fellowship Opportunities (You must be on campus to access)
Since some of you will decide to do a postdoctoral fellowship prior to obtaining a faculty position, we have undertaken to compile a list of postdoctoral opportunities. We are focusing on institutions that grant fellowships on a regular basis.

Congratulations to the 2015 Future Faculty!

Name   Department   Advisor
Abbas Kazemipour
Asli Yalcin Dayioglu
Chang Liu
Derrick Ko
Dongheon Ha
Eirini Kastrouni
Francis Lagor
Ganesh Sivaraman
Mahshid Najafi
Manish Purohit
Mert Vural
Michael Fish
Mina Choi
Qianli Deng
Qiuwei Wang
Seyed Moeini
Stephen Sherman
Svetlana Ikonomova
Taylor Myers
Thomas Winkler
Xiaoyu Liu
Yiqing Wu
     Min Wu
   Ahmet Aydilek
   Elaine Shi
   Richard Calabrese
   Jeremy Munday
   Lei Zhang
   Derek Paley
   Carol Espy-Wilson
   Jonathan Simon
   Samir Khuller
   Peter Kofinas
   Amr Baz
   Aldo Badano
   Gregory Baecher
   Min Wu
   Patrick McCluskey
   Norman Wereley
   Amy Karlsson
   Andre Marshall
   Reza Ghodssi
   Qingbin Cui
   Dongzia Liu
If you are a Clark School doctoral candidate who is considering participating in the program, please:
  1. Review the Future Faculty Program course descriptions
  2. Review list of current and past future faculty fellows
  3. Review roster of current program faculty members
  4. Review list of Clark School alumni that are now holding academic positions
  5. Apply to the program

We look forward to discussing your interests.

For more information about the Future Faculty Program, please contact:

Peter Kofinas
(301) 405-7335


FFP Home  |  Alumni  |  Courses  |  Faculty  |  Students  |  How to Apply