Find us On Facebook Twitter YouTube Linked In Flickr
Faculty and Staff

Chairs and Directors

On this page...

Department Chairs

Center Directors

Institute Directors

Program Directors

Searching for a Faculty or Staff Member?

There are several ways to access information on Clark School faculty and staff:

♦ View the directory of department chairs and institute directors.

Visit departmental web sites.

Use the  University of Maryland faculty and staff directory.

 

Department Chairs

Department of Aerospace Engineering
Dr. Norman M. Wereley
Chair and Minta Martin Professor
Room 3179F Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone: (301) 405-1927  |  Email: wereley@umd.edu

Fischell Department of Bioengineering
Dr. John Fisher
Robert E. Fischell Professor and Chair
Room 2330 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
Phone: (301) 405-4321  |  Email: jpfisher@umd.edu

Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Dr. Sheryl Ehrman
Keystone Professor and Chair
2113D Chemical & Nuclear Engineering Building
Phone: (301) 405-1917  |  E-mail: sehrman@umd.edu

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Dr. Charles Schwartz
Professor and Chair
Room 1173G Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone: (301) 405-1962  |  E-mail: schwartz@umd.edu

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dr. Rama Chellappa

Minta Martin Professor of Engineering and Chair
Room 2415 A.V. Williams Building
Phone: (301) 405-3683  |  E-mail: chella@umd.edu

Department of Fire Protection Engineering
Dr. Jim Milke
Professor and Chair
Room 3104B J.M. Patterson Building
Phone: (301) 405-3995  |  E-mail: milke@umd.edu

Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Dr. Ray Phaneuf
Professor and Chair
Room 2141 Chemical Engineering Bldg.
Phone: (301) 405-7313  |  E-mail: phaneuf@lps.umd.edu

Department of Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Balakumar Balachandran
Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Room 2133 Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone: (301) 405-5309  |  E-mail: balab@umd.edu

Center Directors

Alfred Gessow Rotorcraft Center (AGRC)
Dr. Inderjit Chopra
Alfred Gessow Professor and Director
Room 3148 Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone:(301) 405-1122  |  E-mail: chopra@umd.edu

Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering (CALCE)
Dr. Michael Pecht
George Dieter Chair, Professor and Director
Rm 1103 Engineering Laboratory Building
Phone:(301) 405-5278  |  E-mail: pecht@calce.umd.edu

Center for Environmental Energy Engineering (CEEE)
Dr. Reinhard Radermacher
Professor and Director
Room 4164A Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone: (301) 405-5286  |  E-mail: raderm@umd.edu

Maryland Hybrid Networks Center (HyNet)
Dr. John Baras
Professor, Lockheed Martin Chair in Systems Engineering, and Director
Room 2247 A.V. Williams Building
Phone: (301) 405-6606    E-mail: baras@umd.edu

Maryland Center for Automotive Research & Testing (MCART)
Dr. Gregory Schultz
Lecturer
Phone: (301) 405-1000  |  E-mail: gschultz@umd.edu

Maryland Center for Firefighter Safety Research & Development
Dr. Steven Edwards
Director
Phone: (301) 226-9960  |  E-mail: sedwards@mfri.org

Maryland NanoCenter
Dr. Gary Rubloff
Minta Martin Professor and Director
Room 2145 A.V. Williams Building
Phone: (301) 405-2949  |  E-mail: rubloff@umd.edu

Maryland Cybersecurity Center
Jonathan Katz, Director
Phone: (301)405-1226  |  Email: jkatz@cs.umd.edu
and
Michel Cukier, Associate Director for Education
Phone: (301)314-2804  |  Email: mcukier@umd.edu

Maryland Robotics Center
Nuno Martins
Associate Professor and Director
2423 A.V. Williams Building
Phone: (301) 405-9198  |  Email: nmartins@umd.edu

University of Maryland Energy Research Center (UMERC)
Dr. Eric D. Wachsman
Professor, William L. Crentz Centennial Chair in Energy Research and Director
3232 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
Phone: (301) 405-4799  |  E-mail: ewach@umd.edu

Institute Directors

Institute for Systems Research (ISR)
Dr. Reza Ghodssi
Herbert Rabin Distinguished Chair in Engineering and Director
Room 2173 A.V. Williams Building
Email: ghodssi@umd.edu  |  Phone: (301) 405-8158

Maryland Technology Enterprise Institute (MTECH)
Dr. Peter Sandborn
Director and Professor
Room 2106A Martin Hall
Phone: (301) 405-3167 |  E-mail: sandborn@umd.edu

Institute for Research in Electronics & Applied Physics (IREAP)
Dr. Thomas E. Murphy
Assoc. Professor and Interim Director
Phone: (301) 405-3602  |  E-mail: tem@umd.edu

Institute for Physical Science & Technology (IPST)*
Dr. Christopher Jarzynski
Professor and Director
Room 2203 Chemistry and Biochemistry Bldg.
Phone: (301) 405-4439 |  E-Mail: cjarzyns@umd.edu

University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS)*
Dr. Amitabh Varshney
Professor and Director
Room 4407 A.V. Williams Building
Phone: (301) 405-6722  |  E-mail: varshney@umiacs.umd.edu

*These institutes are not housed within the Clark School, but work in close association with the school.

Program Directors

Graduate Program in Bioengineering
Dr. Peter Kofinas
Keystone Professor and Director
Room 1120 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
Phone: (301) 405-7335  |  Email: kofinas@umd.edu

Graduate Program in Nuclear Engineering
Professor Mohammad Modarres
Room 0151C Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone: (301) 405-5226  |  E-mail: modarres@umd.edu

Master's Program in Telecommunications
(Interdisciplinary)
Zoltan Safar
Director
1367 A.V. Williams Building
Phone: (301) 405-5779  |  Email: zsafar@umd.edu

Master of Science in Systems Engineering
Dr. John E. MacCarthy
Director, Systems Engineering Program
Room 2175 A.V. Williams Building
Phone: (301) 405-4419  |  E-mail: jmaccart@umd.edu

Office of Advanced Engineering Education
Dr. George Syrmos
Executive Director
Room 2123 J.M. Patterson Building
Phone: (301) 405-3633  |  E-mail: syrmos@umd.edu

Project Management Program
John Hart Cable
Director
Room 1168 Glenn L. Martin Hall
Phone: (301) 405-8935  |  E-mail: jcable@umd.edu