Find us On Facebook Twitter YouTube Linked In Flickr

Alumni Cup Competition

Contact Information

Competition Managers:

Erin Strittmatter '13

Alex Paraloglou '14

Office of Alumni Relations

Get Involved

Launch UMD campaign video
To support the Alumni Cup financially please click here to donate.

For corporate sponsorship opportunities including advertising space during the competition please e-mail
All donations are 100% tax-deductible.

To volunteer, please e-mail Erin Strittmatter. Volunteers can assist with planning and execution of the competition or the post-competition student-alumni networking event, fundraising, communications, day-of support, etc.

To Join a Team

To participate on a team, please contact the department chair for your respective discipline.

Friday, February 26, 2016


What Is It?

Alumni Cup TrophyAn annual engineering design competition started in 2012 by the University of Maryland Alumni Association, Engineering Chapter. Teams of students from each department will compete against one another in a week-long challenge to develop a machine that will perform a specific task within certain parameters. Teams will be judged on the machine’s effectiveness in completing the task within the parameters given, a demonstration within the design of the team’s respective discipline, an oral presentation and rough sketches in correlation to the design, and team spirit.

The task and parameters will be given to each team on the Friday before Engineers Week (this year on Feb. 19, 2016). Students will have one week and a small stipend with which to design, sketch, and build the best machine within their ability to reflect their department. Teams will demonstrate their designs at the end of E-Week in the Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building Rotunda (this year on Friday, Feb. 26, 2016, between 2-4 pm). The judges’ panel will be comprised of 5 individuals from both the Clark School administration and the Alumni Association. The winning team will be memorialized on the Alumni Cup trophy displayed in the west lobby of the Glenn L. Martin Hall.

Why Are We Doing This?

The Alumni Cup is intended to generate department (and Clark School) pride, Alumni Association recognition, and a fun and fulfilling E-Week activity.


Competition Schedule

  • 11:00 am: Kim Building Rotunda opens for teams to setup
  • 12:30 pm: PowerPoint presentation and hard copy of sketches/drawing package due
  • 12:45 pm: Judges convene
  • 1:00 pm: Private presentations to the judges
  • 1:40 pm: Judges caucus
  • 2:00 pm: Competition introductions
  • 2:10 pm: Round 1: Oral presentations and machine operations
  • 2:45 pm: Judges caucus
  • 3:00 pm: Round 2: Machine operations
  • 3:30 pm: Round 3: Machine operations
  • 4:00 pm: Winners are announced
  • 4:10 pm: Group photo


Pictures and Video from Previous Competitions

View photos from the 2015 Alumni Cup

Watch videos from the 2014 Alumni Cup

View photos from the 2014 Alumni Cup

View Photos and Video from Alumni Cup 2013

See more photos in Flickr!

Past Topics

  • 2016 - Sharpen a pencil that can write one sentence
  • 2015 - How many engineers does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
  • 2014 - Moving a CD/DVD at least 2 feet, inserting it into a CD/DVD drive, and playing the contents of the CD/DVD
  • 2013 - Inserting a nail into a material for a 20-lb weight to be hung
  • 2012 - Blowing up a balloon and popping it

Past Winners

Our 2015 Alumni Cup Winners from the Mechanical Team:

  • Patrick Healey (Team Captain)
    Jack Chen
    Joshua Lafond
    Caroline McCue
    Marc Paras
    Ori Perl
    Nathan Roe
    Nathan Young

Our 2014 Alumni Cup Winners from the Civil and Environmental Team:

  • Jonathan Schneider (Team Captain)
    Tess Niehoff
    Emily Kriz
    Jamey Campbell
    Jacob Schaperow
    Demetra Tzamaras
    Benjamin Siebert
    Michelle Solomon

Our 2013 Alumni Cup Winners from the Civil and Environmental Team:

  • Erin Strittmatter (Team Captain)
    Laken Ensor
    Amanda Boehmlein
    Matthew Gladding
    Katie O’Brien
    Robert Marengo
    Jonathan Schneider
    John Groeger

Our 2012 Alumni Cup Winners from the Aerospace Engineering Team:

  • Matt Westerfield
    Patrick Nolan
    Andrew Kehlenbeck
    Thomas Noyes
  • Sid Kolluru
    Grant Barrett
    Samantha Walters
    Kip Hart

2016 Alumni Cup Sponsors

The Engineering Alumni Network thanks the generous supporters of the 2016 Alumni Cup Competition:

Principal Sponsors


Competition Round Sponsors

Orcus Fire & Risk

Team Sponsors

Amethyst Technologies Inc. (ChBE)
Bechtel (Civil)
Orcus Fire & Risk (FPE)

Lead Sponsor